Author Interview – Hearts on Fire

Thanks to Hearts on Fire for having me!

First off, can you tell us a little bit about yourself? 

Well, I was born and raised in NE Ohio, and I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.  I am a full-time writer.  I was lucky enough to marry the love of my life and am the proud parent to three furbabies.

How did you get into writing MM?

Representation matters.  When I was growing up, I believe I read all of two books with gay characters in a romantic context (not that I recall many openly gay side characters either).  To that end, you would think I’d try to stick with a more young adult audience, but I guess I just find myself writing about the people more my own age.  My characters have grown up with me.  Given that I don’t write erotica, however, I don’t think my writing would be inappropriate for teens or new adults.  In fact I’d love for them to read my work as much as an adult audience.  There may be something there that speaks to them or helps them, you never know.

What do you do when you are not writing?

Think about writing.  No, really.  I’m pretty much always thinking back to writing.  “Oh, that’s what I can do for that scene!”  “Oh, there’s a new plot idea.”  “Oh no, another novel idea.”  That last one happens a lot.

But in all seriousness, I enjoy gaming, reading, dancing around my kitchen, being a general nerd…  I love history and anything to do with space, so I spend a lot of time doing reading on any number of things.  I’m also actively involved in the realm of fandom and enjoy interacting with other fans and creating content for various shows and movies.

Read the full interview here.

Leave a Reply

