Author Interview – The Pen & Muse

Thanks to The Pen & Muse for hosting me!

Where are you from? Tell us a little about yourself!

I am from a small town in Northeast Ohio.  Basically it’s cows and corn.  Not that I would have it any other way.

I’m married with three wonderful furbabies – two Australian Cattle Dogs, and a cat that I found my senior year of high school.  I love film and studied it in college – along with writing, theatre, and history – with the intention of breaking into both directing and writing.  Hollywood may not have happened, but I’m still writing which is half of that accomplished.

I am a history nerd.  I enjoy all things space related.  I have an addiction to loose-leaf tea and I do not apologize for it.  I can often be found dancing around the house to music while doing chores.  I’m a big gamer – I met my husband at a Halo LAN party.  I’m very much involved in fandom.  Really, I’m just a plain, all around geek.

Tell us about your book? How did it get started?

It began with the idea that Person A was shot and Person B, a cop, saved their life.  That was literally the only starting part.  From there it grew and changed, morphing into what it is today.

One Bullet follows Ethan Brant, a former police officer with PTSD after being shot.  Detective Shawn Greyson, who saved his life that night, is a support system that Ethan desperately needs.  Along with a host of friends and family, the guys take a journey of healing and finding love.

How do you create your characters?

Is it sad to say I don’t really know?  It’s a strange concept to non-writers, but these characters really do write themselves.  I provide a very basic idea of characterization and then I just let them tell me who they are.

Read the full interview here.

Leave a Reply

